News & Features

Student and faculty awards were presented at the 11th annual spring banquet.

President Bill Powers recently hosted a reception honoring five UT faculty members inducted into three national academies. The Tower was lighted orange in their honor.

Fernanda Leite, assistant professor in Construction Engineering and Project Management, was selected to receive the Outstanding Early Career Researcher Award from FIATECH.

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) announced today that one professor and two alumni from the Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin have been elected as members.

Steve Wright, professor emeritus in Geotechnical Engineering was selected to receive the 2013 H. Bolton Seed Medal from ASCE.

Steve Boyles, Assistant Professor in Transportation Engineering, and Chadi El Mohtar, Assistant Professor in Geotechnical Engineering, are the recipient of CAREER awards from the National Science Foundation.

Lance Manuel, professor in Mechanics, Uncertainty, and Simulation in Engineering (MUSE), has received the Texas Blazers Outstanding Faculty Award at the Texas Blazers Faculty Appreciation Breakfast held in November 2012.

During the 2012 Alumni Banquet and Academy of Distinguished Alumni Induction Ceremony in October, the department recognized an outstanding young graduate who has become an influential leader in the engineering community. Mark Waggoner (MSCE 1999) is the 2012 award recipient.

David R. Maidment, Hussein M. Alharthy Centennial Chair in Civil Engineering, was selected to receive the 2012 Ray K. Linsley Award from the American Institute of Hydrology.