The University of Texas at Austin


Alum Jeremy Semrau (BSCE '88) @UMCEEFA honored with Thurnau Professorship for outstanding contributions to undergrad education.


CAEE Once Again No. 3 in U.S. News and World Report Rankings

CAEE Once Again No. 3 in U.S. News and World Report Rankings

One of the nation’s elite engineering departments.


CAEE Energy Infrastructure Panel - April 2, 2015


energy pic

March 26, 2015

Architectural and civil engineering faculty are holding a series of upcoming panel discussions to showcase their work that supports and builds our nation's energy infrastructure.

The first panel, hosted by the UT Energy Symposium, will be on April 2, 2015 at 5:00 p.m. in the Peter O'Donnell Jr. Building (POD) Avaya Auditorium. This event involves five examples of how our faculty are engaged in research relevant to energy, from production to generation and conservation. Panel members include Richard Corsi, Kevin Folliard, Kara Kockelman, Lance Manuel, Atila Novoselac, and Charles Werth.

Future panels will also highlight faculty activities related to the energy pillar, and its connections with water and growth of cities.

Refreshments will be served starting at 4:45 p.m. 

Learn more about how our department is developing innovative solutions to the complex problems surrounding the nexus of cities, water, and energy.

Chandra Bhat – ASCE Transportation Engineering Award



March 17, 2015

Professor Chandra Bhat has been selected by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) to receive the 2015 Frank M. Masters Transportation Engineering Award for his "pioneering contributions to transportation systems analysis, his international leadership in bridging the gap between the research and practice of transportation planning, and his dedicated efforts to produce a new generation of high quality transportation professionals.”

The committee particularly noted innovations that have contributed to outstanding transportation planning. The award includes a medal and cash prize to be presented during the ASCE’s Annual Convention next fall.



Michael Engelhardt - AICS Lifetime Achievement Award



March 17, 2015


Professor Michael Engelhardt is a recipient of the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC) Lifetime Achievement Award that will be presented at the spring 2015 NASCC Steel Conference.

AISC's Lifetime Achievement Award honors individuals who have made a difference in the structural steel industry's success and recognizes their outstanding service over a sustained period of years to AISC and the structural steel design/construction/academic community.

Engelhardt is the DeWitt C. Greer Centennial Professor of Civil Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin, where he's served on the faculty since 1989 and has excelled at both teaching and research. His teaching philosophy, for which he's received numerous awards, is to "present information in a manner that allows students to see simplicity and clarity in seemingly complex subjects." His ability to accomplish this comes from a deep understanding of the subject and results in a valuable learning experience for his students.

Also a talented and world-recognized researcher, his research interests are in the areas of seismic-resistant design of steel structures, steel and composite bridges, and structural fire engineering.

His contributions to AISC have been invaluable; he has generously shared his teaching talents with the institute as an excellent continuing education provider, serving frequently as a lecturer for AISC seminars, short courses and NASCC sessions. In addition, he serves as a member of the AISC Committee on Specifications, the AISC Seismic Specification Committee, and the AISC Connection Prequalification Review Panel.

He received AISC's prestigious T.R. Higgins Award in 1999 for his outstanding research in Reduced Beam Section Moment Connections, and in 2008 he earned an AISC Special Achievement Award for his pioneering contributions to the development of Eccentric Braced Frames.




Kolodzey Travel Grant Awards

Graduate travel awards for Spring 2015.

Student Spotlight

Doug Slattery

Geo-grid Researcher