News & Features

Stephen Boyles - TRB Fred Burggraf Award

headshot of Stephen Boyles

Aug. 27, 2014

Assistant Professor Stephen Boyles received the Transportation Research Board's Fred Burggraf Award for his paper, Modeling Parking Search on Network Using Stochastic Shortest Paths with History Dependence. The award recognizes excellence in transportation research by researchers 35 years of age or younger.  

The Fred Burggraf Award was established in 1966 to stimulate and encourage young researchers to contribute to the advancement of knowledge in the field of transportation. The award is accompanied by a cash prize and was named in honor of the late Fred Burggraf, who served as the Board's director from 1951 until his retirement in 1964.

Three of his students will also receive recognition for their contributions.  Shoupeng Tan, Tarun Rambha, and Reese Hatridge will be honored with Boyles at the January meeting of the Transportation Meeting Board in Washington, DC.